Shoot 7 Review.

As I started piecing ideas together for the flow of my book, I knew I needed more positive images and had become aware of some beautiful changes to the environment as Spring was in full bloom. Annoyingly I missed the opportunity to reshoot some images of daffodils or get a good shot of trees blooming with blossom, but once again it changed quicker than anticipated. Despite this, I had a good few ideas of some of the pictures I could get, such as my favourite plant called ‘bleeding heart’ and small daisies and dandelions. For these, I also made sure I had the macro lens to get some good close ups.

ContactSheet-001 ContactSheet-002 ContactSheet-003 ContactSheet-004

Using the macro lens proved a little difficult during this shoot as often I seemed to be struggling to get it to focus in auto, therefore set it to manual. I managed quite well to focus my shots in manual, but as there was a hint of wind in the air, the smallest gust would blow my subject and move it out of focus. Therefore, some shots I have are slightly out of focus which I didn’t realise until after the shoot however luckily I still have available options to use for my book. Other than this, the lens worked really well including even picking up some tiny creatures crawling inside a yellow dandelion. It also picked up really intreguing texture and pattern in the other dandelion but looking back at this picture I am unsure as to how I would use it and represent positivity. Because of this, I felt the shots where parts of the dandelion flying away were more effective, representing my anxiety slowly drifting away, similar to the concept of the mask on the end of the balloon for my final image of the book. Although these shots have a very slight blur to them, I actually quite like this as it shows gentle movement and one may be suitable for use with the build up to my final image. I think these images capture really well the new life coming to light during spring. They are vibrant and visually pleasing in order to portray my representation of positivity.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on May 4, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

