Self Portrait Shoot 2 Review.

For my second self portrait, I had a clear idea of the kind of image I wanted to achieve. When having a panic attack, one of the biggest struggles is feeling like you can’t breathe and I wanted to depict this through an image of myself emerged underwater, suggesting drowning and not being able to breathe. I will also be blowing bubbles to hide my face as this theme is running throughout my project. I knew the light in the bathroom wouldn’t be very good so I booked out a flashgun to help improve this. I was conscious of it being quite bright and reflecting off the white bath or water surface, so I aimed the head away from the subject so the light bounced rather than hitting directly. I used Ben to test the lighting and composition beforehand so he knew what I wanted the image to look like, then took place after filling the bath with water.

ContactSheet-001

I actually struggled with being underwater a lot more than I thought, meaning if my breathing wasn’t right I ended up with water up my nose which burned immensely! Once I was able to get into the technique, we tried a number of different shots. In some of the images I didn’t feel like my hair was flowing dramatically enough and in others, I didn’t think there was enough going on. I tried working with my hands round my neck to add to the representation of not being able to breath but didn’t really feel like this added anything. Then I tried it with my hand stretched out, ‘reaching for help’ but Ben seemed to be struggling to get both the hand and my face in focus, and I didn’t think this worked particularly well either. On reflection, I actually prefer the images with just my face as it draws more attention to the ripples in the water and the distortion this creates on the face. I think I have captured the sense of ‘not being able to breathe’ well although the image is quite direct and to the point, I may choose to use Photoshop to enhance it aesthetically. I am unsure as to what this photo will pair well with from my still life and landscape images but this will be something I consider when I can see all my images during the selection process. It may be possible that it works well on it’s own.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on April 26, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

