Shoot 5 Review.

Over January, there was a very brief period where the weather took a particular turn mixing light snow showers and rain. As there wasn’t enough snow, I didn’t feel that going out trying to get pictures of it would look particularly good or interesting, as often it wasn’t settling on the ground and the sky was quite dull with little contrast. Instead, I decided to take some pictures from my bedroom window. Although this sounds quite boring and plain and the images aren’t specifically technical, I have always wanted to try this kind of image and also think it will work well it terms of symbolism and meaning.

Winter:Snow:Rain 2 Contact Sheet 1 Winter:Snow:Rain 2 Contact Sheet 2 Winter:Snow:Rain 2 Contact Sheet 3

As I was shooting from indoors and it was quite dull outside, this meant I was working in fairly dark conditions as well as needing a fast shutter speed to freeze the movement of the snow falling otherwise it just blurred. This wasn’t so much of a problem however when I was focusing close upon the droplets on the window. Photographing from the window had both advantages and disadvantages. When framing close up shots, depending on the angle I was shooting from, the buildings in the background provided me with a dark backdrop whilst the sky provided a light one. I personally feel the darker background worked best as it contributes to the gloomy, sombre feeling of the image however it also means that the image overall is quite simple. I will need to take this into consideration when selecting my finals, as although I think it represents emotions and feelings symbolically, I am not so keen on including an image which isn’t particularly interesting. It will be worthy of noting whether this kind of weather would have more of an affect of those who suffer with SAD therefore it might be a better representation of their experience. As the clouds passed, I was able to get some shots of the rain still on the window but brighter skies in the background. Although I don’t think these are particularly good images because you can see the buildings opposite, they may be representative of hope or change. I think there is potential with these images for my finals but it will have to come down to careful consideration after I have spoken to my participants.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on March 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

