Shoot 4 Review.

Over the course of winter, my photographic practice was lacking particularly with concentration on the symposium and other photographic commitments. Often I would miss particularly frosty mornings and sadly there was no heavy snowfall to photograph. Before I knew it, the bulk of winter was over and I didn’t find anything particularly inspiring to photograph to represent it. At this point, I was very surprised at how quickly the time was flashing by and the scenery was changing, and particularly annoyed with myself for not capturing it. However luckily, with the introduction of the professional photographic practice module in January, I finally narrowed down a theme for my idea meaning it wasn’t so destructive to my project that I ‘missed’ winter. Despite this, I decided to carry on photographing in the same kind of style of going out in a different location and capturing what caught my eye. As I still hadn’t spoken to people with Seasonal Affective Disorder at this point, this meant there wasn’t a particular influence over the way I would take my images. I felt it would be best to take my photos, then come back and review which would be best for finals after speaking to those who suffer with it. This method will also work better if I decided to make it collaborative and gave my participants the opportunity to pick photos which they felt represent their experience best.

Winter 1 Contact Sheet 1 Winter 1 Contact Sheet 2 Winter 1 Contact Sheet 3

On reflection of the photographs, it seems a little confusing of seasons. Whilst most of the branches are bare and there is a light scattering of snow on the ground, I also came across the vibrant pink flower which would represent spring. This may possibly mean that rather than restricting my shoots to particular times of the year, it may be more appropriate to complete my selection process of all of them together. Particular images which stood out as potentials from this shoot was the image of the child’s glove on the brick wall covered in snow which had obviously been forgotten. This could represent feeling’s of loneliness, being left behind and cold, sad emotions. I also tried to frame some footprints left behind in the snow, but this was quite hard to distinguish as the layer of snow was very light. Particularly with the image of the path, this could be symbolic of a journey whilst the footprint again plays on that idea of being left behind or somebody moving on. In contrast to this, the single pink flower could symbolise new life and hope, the brightness suggests positive emotion yet delicacy with its small shape and stands alone. In this shoot I have again tried to stay quite close up with the cropping of my images and when I experimented with wider shots, I just didn’t feel like these were working or they were aesthetically pleasing – something I have always seemed to have struggled with when photographing landscape. It may be worth researching particular techniques or styles of landscape photography to help improve this when in further photo shoots or I may choose to just stick to close ups.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on March 11, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

