Questions & Individual Tutorial.

After picking out key points and quotes from my books, along with finding different examples of advertisements which had been revealed as manipulated, I concluded there were 2 directions which I could take my paper. I could either explore the manipulation through for example, the signifier and signified and the creation of narrative in an advertisement, or I could explore the extent of digital manipulation of advertisements and how they have created an untrue representation. Personally, I found myself more interested in exploring truth in the signifier and signified as I feel there is already huge focus on manipulation of models in images to look more attractive and appealing. However despite this, I felt I had currently discovered more material and case studies to create a better argument for the untrue representation created through digital manipulation.  I decided I wanted to speak to Caroline about this, along with some other queries and concerns I wanted to clear up.

  • How advertising ‘works’.
  • Explore the truth of signifiers and signified? eg. Silvikrin advert from Source OR explore truths of retouching eg. Ralph Lauren, L’oreal Lancome, Kiera Knightly.
    • Include photoshop disasters?
    • Round up with efforts to ban these retouched images.
  • Should I include McDonald’s burger manipulation? Interesting video about how there is a lot of criticism of how burger’s which are served to customer’s look nothing like how they appear in adverts.
  • Should the audience be involved?
  • What goes into the actual presentation?
    • Can I include quotes not used in my paper?
    • How do I ‘speak’ incitations?

Notes from APT with Caroline.

  • Focus on the truth of signifiers and signified – more interesting!
  • Don’t talk about the McDonald’s burger manipulation, it is irrelevant here.
  • It is good to involve the audience – ask questions but do not expect an answer back. Then again, do not assume that you won’t be answered.
  • Include images/case studies you are discussing.
  • Include quotes that have been used in the paper, not those which haven’t as they have already become ‘irrelevant’ therefore they don’t need to be brought back in.
  • Paraphrasing comes across better orally.
  • ‘Unwrapping’ advertisements.
  • Consider how we are being told a lie?
  • What are we being told?

Following this APT, I was a bit apprehensive that Caroline advertised me to talk about the truth within the signifier and signified, rather than through the manipulation of images. I had already kind of made up my mind in my head that I would go for what I felt I knew best, but then again I was relieved and excited that she suggested I discuss the truth within the signifier and signified as I was finding this more interesting myself. It also made me think back again to Anthony emphasising how important it is to be passionate about what you are talking about and I found myself really engaged in this topic. Therefore it was time to move on quickly and start piecing together my paper!

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on January 27, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

