#Phonar Post-Photographic Evaluation.

Overall, I was quite pleased with the outcome of my post-photographic piece. I felt it pulled together various tasks and ideas from the talks throughout #phonar as well as expressing my own problem, solution and what would of happen if I didn’t produce this piece.

My post-photographic piece was produced from going back to my spoken narrative and delving deeper for me to tell a personal story. I really enjoyed the transformative storytelling task which made me want to put a series of photographs together for the visuals. Based on this, I thought back to Sara Davidmann who drew our attention to family albums and how we do not include things that are deemed unacceptable or the struggles in our history. To reflect this I juxtaposed my spoken narrative with images were I looked happy and well. It also relates back to my problem of the stigma behind mental health and we never know what somebody can be going through. By using images from my macbook and Facebook, this reflected what was suggested by Fred Ritchin of how we are losing the photograph as it becomes the image and reflecting this massive paradigm shift in digital photography. This worked to my advantage as I was able to find a range of photos which cover the time I have been suffering with my anxiety.

I particularly think the combination of sound worked well, this is something I haven’t really used much in my practice. At first, I found it hard to connect with the cello piece but after going through it again I began to understand it differently and how which bits would suit my video. I think as my topic is quite sensitive and personal, the more emotive sections of the piece really stood out to me and were what I included in the video. I also liked the beginning section as it complimented the heart beat really well. I was a bit cautious of adding sound effects but on reflection I think they really enhanced that feeling of anxiety, almost giving you a little snippet into my world. I knew there were a lot of things I wanted to include in my spoken piece like traumatic experiences I have suffered and making anybody else who is struggling with anxiety not feel alone. Whilst I was writing I was very conscious of making it more of a poetic piece rather than literally speaking from memory. It was important for me to think about what was brought up whilst we reflected on the talk from Lisa Potts and the case of detaching myself from my story emotionally for me to be able to do so and I feel I did this successfully. Listening back to my own voice in my recording really made me cringe and it made me think that maybe I had made the piece a little too cheesy. However after presenting my video to the group and getting some feedback, it left me feeling a lot more confident about what I had produced and glad I was able to share this message. Although I have never been a fan of presenting my work, this was a brilliant experience for me and I am really pleased with my outcome.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on December 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

