Task 3 – Nude & Naked.

Building on the session workshops you should explore notions of Nude and Naked through your work. You should make at least one study of yourself and another of someone else. You will need to bring your experiences from task one and two to bear as you explore the dynamics of vulnerability vis a vis yourself, the subject and ultimately the viewer.

You should spend time observing the context for your subject. You should look for work with the different types of light, tone and colour, both in terms of your location context and the effects they have on your subject and the subsequent photographic artefact.

Consider Paul Wright’s words on life drawing: “Look at the subject away from the camera – soak up your subject”, “look for the lines that denote weight and gesture”, “consider echoes of movement in a gesture – the image can be messy and doesn’t have to be ‘picture-perfect'”.

After looking at the work of various photographers following looking through Nude & Naked notes, and exploring the various images from this Pinterest board, I was able to begin thinking about how I wanted produce the study of myself and someone else. With this task, I had many hesitations as I imagine a lot of the class did. For me, being naked is something I find uncomfortable and whilst it can create some beautiful images, nude photographs are not something I usually feel comfortable viewing. Therefore I wanted to be able to portray this in my own work.

IMG_89012

 

The stance I held in this image meant that most of my body is covered, and doesn’t give much away in the terms of being nude. It portrays my insecurity whilst holding my arms around my body acts as a secure barrier. By keeping my head down, it also gives the sense of hiding my identity. The strong contrasting background means the image focuses completely on the body and its shape, whilst I used one single light from above to highlight this and the tones in the skin. I am quite pleased with the turn out of this image because although it may not be extremely experimental, it captures the message I wanted to portray.

For my study with somebody else, I decided to photograph my close friend Katy Flanagan. Although we were both quite nervous beforehand, we were soon able to overcome this. Like myself, Katy was quite nervous and insecure about showing her body so I wanted to make her feel more confident. I found it quite hard initially to think how I wanted to work with Katy, however something that stood out to me is how a pair of heels often gives women confidence. Whilst being naked can make someone appear quite vulnerable, the pair of heels would contrast this by making a statement. I asked Katy to bring a pair of heels with her to the shoot, therefore she was able to make her own decision about which she liked and what would look good on her. Heels often make a woman feel sexy, therefore I wanted to use a pose that would enhance this.

IMG_89652

 

IMG_89652bw

 

I looked at this image in both black and white to see which worked best, however I am still unsure as to which works best. I really liked the black and white image as it makes it more artistic, whilst highlighting the various tones through the image and definition on the skin, such as how you can see her ribs whereas in the colour photo it does not look as visually pleasing. However having the image in black and white detracts away from the striking red colour of the heels which I think bring something special to the picture, as well as the element of confidence. In colour it also looks more authentic and real which allows the viewer to feel more familiar with it.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on January 31, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

