#Picbod Task 1 – The Self Portrait

Previsualize and produce a self portrait (using only available night) unrestricted in theme and technique yet still supplying a message to the viewer. You should spend time first understanding what it is you wish to convey before then looking at the composition and mechanics of the image and finally production.

What is a self portrait?

a picture, photograph or piece of writing that you make of or about yourself

(http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/self-portrait?q=self+portrait)

My starting thoughts with this task was how I could use available light to my advantage, and in what kind of way I would use it such as harsh light or soft. A photographer that came to me which helped inspired the production of my own image is Martin Schoeller, who is known for his many portraits of famous celebrities.

06-05_full

martin-schoeller-emma-watson-portrait-up-close-and-personal

The shots frame the subject’s head, leading the viewer to focus on their facial features and expressions. This is the sort of framing I want to use for my shot rather than working with the whole body. Once I thought more about how I wanted to work with the available light in my image, I also wanted to use the shadows it creates – relating back to our workshop from the 9th where we drew each other through the shadows we could see. In relation to this, a photographer’s work I found really interesting is Vivian Maier. She has created a number of self portraits over a number of years using different styles and techniques, such as incorporating her reflections or herself into set ups. However what I find the most interesting is how she works with her shadow and how she uses this to represent her self portrait.

1029

self_portrait

VM1970W01642-09-MC

 

Following this, I decided for my own self portrait I wanted to have a head shot with half my face lit by available light of a small lamp whilst the other side is in shadow. To me, this reflects how you cannot establish somebody’s personality through how you see them such as the saying ‘don’t judge a book by it’s cover’. The photograph tells a story, however the shadow reflects how we do not know the full truth of a person.

DSC_0860edit

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on January 15, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

