Coventry City Football Club Placement Introduction – 23rd November Reflection.

Following gaining my placement with Coventry City Football Club, we were invited to attend the game against Tranmere. As this was to just get a feeling for the ground and match day proceedings it was definitely something I was looking forward to. Just the prospect of being able to sit in the press area was beyond exciting. Although there was no photographing involved, I was still particularly nervous about going.

As Coventry City have had their games moved to Sixfields in Northampton, this meant there was quite a lengthy trip ahead however it gave me the opportunity to meet the other students which had gained a placement and allow us to get to know each other. Following a 25 minute walk to Coventry train station, a train journey to Northampton and a taxi from the station to the ground it became clear the disadvantage of not being able to drive which I distinguished in my SWOT analysis.

Throughout the day we met various people and were introduced to the different roles and match day tasks. Throughout the game, I made sure to take notice of the positioning of the photographers which were present. Although I was aware that depending on what equipment I was using and lens size may restrict where I was able to go, it was important for me to notice where the photographers placed themselves and what would be best for myself. I distinguished it was either best to be on the sideline or behind the goal on the side which Coventry City would be scoring therefore I could get good shots of any goals and celebrations.

As a follower of football, I enjoyed watching the game despite the disappointing result of a 5 -1 loss. Afterwards, we were able to watch and listen to post match interviews with both team managers and players which left me slightly star struck when they were just metres away. Following the experience, it left me feeling both extremely excited and keen to get stuck in. With my previous experience in event photography I have a good idea as to how to approach this kind of photography however photographing football is going to be something completely new and I cannot wait to begin.

20131123_131838

Travel, introduction, learning surroundings & proceedings = 1 day for 201MC Professional Experience.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on November 26, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

