Task 4.

On Tuesday 14th May, we travelled to Draycote Water, one of the local Severn Trent reservoirs, in order to photograph and produce at least 2 images to be submitted for a competition, as well as 2-5 for Task 4 as part of 152MC.

By looking at the competition details and browsing the website, http://www.stwater.co.uk/photocomp, I was still unsure as to what would greet me once I arrived. I shot my images on my own camera, Nikon D3000, whilst using the natural light in composition for my images. The reservoir was a great size and offered the opportunity for a long walk. However, I decided to stick to the areas which had a bit more going on, such as near the Visitor Centre and an area with boats in. The weather wasn’t its best, therefore the images weren’t as bright and colourful as I’d hoped, however there are a few shots in which I was pleased with after looking through what I had taken.

ContactSheet-001

ContactSheet-002

ContactSheet-003

ContactSheet-004

These are the images which I like the most…

DSC_7357

DSC_7377

DSC_7381

DSC_7391

DSC_7397

DSC_7400

DSC_7422

DSC_7407

These are my four final images for both Task 4 and the ones which I will submit to the competition. I have edited them using Photoshop, however only 1 in order to crop it slightly. I felt it was best to keep these images as natural as possible. I selected these 4 as I think they represent a few different aspects of Draycote Water well.

DSC_7357

In this image, I composed the shot with the boat at the front close up and the reservoir in the background. What I really like in this image is how you can see far into the distance and each section of the photo appears to layer upon each other  – first the boats, then the reservoir, fields and trees then the sky. This creates the sense of a deep space, as well as great contrasts of different shapes and textures. I used an aperture of f6.3 which adds to this effect as the foreground is in focus whereas the background is not. I think this captures different elements about Draycote water because it shows the boats as in what you can do there, the reservoir itself and the beautiful countryside.

DSC_7391

This is another image where I like the layering of the shot – the rocks in the foreground leading the eye into the picture, the reservoir and the boats. I also like this image because of the differences in light. Some rocks are dark, others light, both adding a rough texture to the image, whereas the rest of the photo is quite bright. The boats add a small amount of colour and variation, again showing what happens at there. I used a slightly narrower aperture f10 for this image, creating a mid depth of field. The shutter speed of 1/60 has also captured the movement of the water among the rocks, and small rain drops on the surface which I think is a nice touch.

DSC_7397

This photo is quite different to my other images which I have chosen, however I think it fits in with them. The key element of this photo is the flag as it defines the place instantly therefore we understand the context of the photo. A shutter speed of 1/100 has captured the movement of the flag allowing us to read what it says but also not making it look fake – the curl in the material makes the photo more real. The image overall is quite repetitive in colour, however the flag adds a burst of colour which draws the eye here, acting as the first and main focal point. I think the composition of the image could have been improved however by being able to see the reservoir in the background supports the main focus on the flag because it shows the place.

DSC_7407

I think this is my favourite image of the day. It defines more about Draycote Water, how it is a home to different wildlife. Layering has again been important in this image and the ducks act as the first focal point. I think they add character to the image, as well as adding variation making the photo more interesting. They also add colour, along with the boat to the right which also acts as a main focal point. Beyond this we see the reservoir and very far into the distance we can see countryside, creating a sense of a deep space. The aperture of f10 has worked nicely here with the ducks in focus whereas at the point of the boat it is more out of focus, however we still gain the detail. The photo was shot from a fairly low angle, which made it possible to get so much into the frame as well as making it feel more intimate with the wildlife. It defines how Draycote Water is such an open place.

Overall, the day was an interesting experience. It always opens a lot of opportunity going on a location shoot – it is important to be prepared whilst also you are not always so sure of what will greet you. I found shots could often be quite repetitive, however composition was key to creating interesting photos. I feel the photos could have been improved if the weather was better, making the area look more attractive and the photos more aesthetically pleasing but this is something you cannot control. Despite this, I think my images work fairly well in defining Draycote Water as a place.

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on May 15, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

