Introduction to 152MC.

Pre-visualisation – a term from Ansel Adams. This module explores the aspect of pre -visualising.

Jeff Wall –  A Sudden Gust of Wind, 1993.

jw

  • Made up of 50 images.
  • Pre-visualisation in contemporary practice.
  • Collapsed perspective.
  • “I begin by not photographing” 2010 video.
  • Based on work by Katsushika Hokusai…

kh

  • Ejiri in Suruga Province.
  • Relationship between landscape, earth and people.

Gregory Crewdson

gc

 

  • Works like film but creates a photograph.
  • Interesting in American Suburbs.
  • Cinematic lighting.

Following the introduction to pre-visualisation, we were introduced to Task 1 with along with the task of finding examples of a good and bad manual.

An example of a good manual…

  • Broken down into 3 steps.
  • Within the steps are instructions – short sentences, to the point.
  • Pictures to accompany the instructions to enhance understanding.
  • Quick to read.
  • Useful for a wide audience – could give instructions to teens, adults, ect and would be able to understand.
  • Further information beyond the 3 steps incase of problems with fitting.

An example of a bad manual…

  • All dependant on pictures, no text to support.
  • A lot to take in.
  • Quite complicated pictures, with labelled parts but no explanation of these.
  • Possibly more suited to a particular audience rather than everyone.
  • Different sections however unclear as to whether chronological.

After we were given the chance to enhance our understanding and perception of light. Given a collection of red items, lit by a lamp, along with a piece of A3 paper, black charcoal and a rubber, we were able to sketch out how the light appeared upon the items. This task was quite unique and creative to something I had approached before, and although I was apprehensive with my poor art skills it was really interesting to see how the light fell upon the items, reflecting off certain surfaces while creating contrasting shadows. Here is an image taken of one of the objects and how the light fell upon it – by taking a picture on our phone it was clearer to see the light and shadows than it was in the darkened room, to give us a better perception.

20130416_113650

 

Here is the piece which I produced – I used the rubber to erase the charcoal on my page in order to show how the light fell upon the flower, its leaves and a coca-cola can.

20130508_233145

 

The final task of the day was to practice with our pinhole cameras which we made over the Easter holidays. Making my own pinhole was an interesting task having not worked with one before, however the introduction given before Easter where we explored the camera obscura and were given demonstrations in different ways to approach the making of our camera, my ability to make my own camera was made slightly easier. For my pinhole, I used an empty roses tin. Firstly, I painted all of the inside black to reduce any reflections from the shiny inside. Following this, I made a hole in the lid and used a piece of tape to cover it and use as a shutter. This is was my pinhole complete, however one last important item is a piece of blue tack to stick in the back therefore my piece of photographic paper is kept in place whilst the camera is being moved about before photographing.

20130508_233006

20130508_233029

 

My first successful exposure took 7 seconds. For a first attempt, I was pleased with the outcome as it captured the building nicely as well as including a few people, with one person accidentally in the frame when I took the shot however I think this actually creates an interesting effect.

20130508_234657

 

To make my negative into a print, I got a new piece of photographic paper, then placed the negative on top upside down. I then placed a peice of glass and exposed the overall image for 10 seconds. After this, I added another 5 seconds in 4 different sections, slowly uncovering the image in order to see which exposure would be correct for the image. After looking at my print in the light, I decided to expose the image for a total of 25 seconds.

20130508_234739

 

Although I was pleased with the image for a first attempt, there were a few problems in which I need to remember to avoid in future. Firstly, the print is wonky on the paper therefore when loading my paper and photographing I need to make sure this is lined up well and I can get my image straight on. As well as this, there were a few smudge marks, potentially from the tongs used or finger prints so in future I need to be more careful when handling and developing my prints. Finally, if I were to work more with this image, I could use the dodge and burn technique in order to darken down the sky slightly so it is not so bright/block white.

 

~ by victoriasimkissphotography on April 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Yasmin Taylor Photography

Making your memories last...

Gemma Rose Jarvis

FInal Year Photography

Katherine Michelle

Coventry University Student Blog

Aaron Sehmar University Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

emmasheaphotography

Emma Shea: Currently Studying Photography at Coventry University

Lucy Bartlett Photography

Third year Photography student at Coventry University

inspireasmile

Spark your imagination. Capture it.

Metal Mondays

With Charlotte, Mo and Quincy, every Monday from 8pm-10pm

jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

